The Meta-owned instant messaging app brings new features to enhance the WhatsApp experience and keep it secure. The app is now getting a new feature for admins on WhatsApp groups. According to WhatsApp tracker WABetaInfo, the instant messaging app is getting a new feature that allows group admins to delete any message for everyone.
According to the report, this feature allows group admins to moderate better. It looks like the feature is rolling out to users worldwide and will show all group members when an administrator deletes a message. Although WhatsApp has not yet officially announced the part, a report by WABetaInfo states that it may already be rolling out to beta testers.
To check if you have received the feature, just go to any group you are a part of and long-press on any message. If there is an option to delete the news, you have received the feature. If not, the quality will be rolled out soon. From what it seems, WhatsApp is testing out the part with a handful of users first.
The WABetaInfo report also showed screenshots of the feature. There is a new “Delete message” option, clicking which will bring a pop-up that says, “As an admin, you are deleting (group’s) message for everyone in this chat. They will see that you deleted the message.” Once you go ahead and delete the message, it will show similar to deleted messages on WhatsApp currently.
WhatsApp recently updated the time limit to delete messages to up to 2 days and 12 hours.
Earlier, WhatsApp only allowed users to delete messages an hour or so older. The company now will enable you to delete messages over two days after they have been sent.